Plenary Speakers

Ken-ichi Kitayama
Ken-ichi Kitayama (NICT – National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan) “Photonic Accelerator and “Small-world network”-based Reservoir Computing” Ken-ichi Kitayama is a Professor Emeritus of Osaka University since 2016. Currently, he serves as the R&D Advisor of Network Research Institute of National Institute of Information and Communications Technology (NICT), Tokyo and the Research Fellow of Hamamatsu Photonics Central Research Laboratory, Hamamatsu where he engages in research on photonic computing for networking and sensing. He received the Ph. D in 1981 from Osaka University, Japan. He joined NTT Laboratory in 1976. In 1995, he joined CRL (presently, NICT), Japan. In 1999, he became a professor at Osaka University. He has published more than 310 journal papers in the area of fiber transmissions and photonic networks and authored a book, “Optical Code Division Multiple Access — Fundamentals and Practical Perspective.” Cambridge University Press (ISBN:97811070261620). He is the Life Fellow of IEEE.
Michal Lipson
Prof. Michal Lipson (Columbia University, USA) “The Revolution of Silicon Photonics” Prof. Michal Lipson is the Eugene Higgins Professor at Columbia University. Her research focus is on Nanophotonics and includes the investigation of novel phenomena, as well as the development of novel devices and applications. Prof. Lipson pioneered critical building blocks in the field of Silicon Photonics, which today is recognized as one of the most promising directions for solving the major bottlenecks in microelectronics.  She is the inventor of over 45 issued patents and has co-authored more than 250 scientific publications. In recognition of her work in silicon photonics, she was elected as a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Her numerous awards include the NAS Comstock Prize in Physics, the MacArthur Fellowship, the Blavatnik Award, Optica’s R. W. Wood Prize, the John Tyndall Award, the IEEE Photonics Award, and an honorary degree from Trinity College, University of Dublin. In 2020 she was elected the 2021 Vice President of Optica, formerly known as The Optical Society, and will serve as Optica President in 2023. Since 2014, every year she has been named by Thomson Reuters as a top 1% highly cited researcher in the field of Physics.
Daniel Perez Lopez
Dr. Daniel Pérez López (CTO, Co-Founder, iPronics Programmable Photonics, Spain) “Programmable photonics: from foundations to arbitrary switching applications” Daniel Pérez-López (M.Sc., Ph.D.) is cofounder and CTO at iPronics Programmable Photonics. He has spent his professional life on the creation, development, and commercialization of programmable photonics: giving to large-scale photonic integrated circuits flexibility through run-time software programming. His career combined academic and deep-tech industry paths with his PhD and postdoc research at the Universitat Politècnica de València’s, Photonics Research Labs, where he developed novel photonic integrated circuit designs and architectures that can be reconfigured to perform multipurpose functionalities. His work has been recognized, among others, by the 2017 IEEE Photonics Society Graduate Student Fellowship and the 2023 Photonics100 list by ElectroOptics. iPRONICS website: Homepage – iPronics Programmable Photonics LinkedIn:
Lorenzo Pavesi
Lorenzo Pavesi (University of Trento, Italy) “Neuromorphic silicon photonics for computing and thinking” Lorenzo Pavesi is a Professor of Experimental Physics at the Department of Physics of the University of Trento (Italy). Born on the 21st of November 1961, he received his PhD in Physics in 1990 at the Ecole Polytechnique Federale of Lausanne (Switzerland). In 1990 he became an Assistant Professor, an Associate Professor in 1999 and Full Professor in 2002 at the University of Trento. He leads the Nanoscience Laboratory (25 people), and teaches several classes at the Department of Physics of the University of Trento. He is the director of Q@TN, a joint lab between the University, the Bruno Kessler Foundation, CNR and INFN. He founded the research activity in semiconductor optoelectronics at the University of Trento and started several laboratories of photonics, growth and advanced treatment of materials. He was the first president and founder of the IEEE Italian chapter on Nanotechnology. He has directed 42 PhD students and more than 48 Master thesis students. His research activity concerned the optical properties of semiconductors. During the last years, he concentrated on Silicon-based photonics where he looks for the convergence between photonics and electronics. He is interested in active photonic devices which can be integrated into silicon by using optical nonlinearities and modified material properties. His interests encompass also optical sensors or biosensors and solar cells. A recent development is toward integrated quantum photonics and neuromorphic photonics. In silicon photonics, he is one of the worldwide recognized experts, he organized several international conferences, workshops and schools and is a frequently invited speaker. He manages several research projects, both national and international. He is an ERC grantee. He is a frequently invited reviewer, monitor or referee for photonics projects by several grant agencies. He is an author or co-author of more than 500 papers, author of several reviews, editor of more than 15 books, author of 2 books and holds 9 patents. He is chief speciality editor of the section Optics and Photonics of Frontiers in Physics and founding editor of the series Photonic Materials and Applications, a joint initiative of SPIE and Elsevier. Moreover, he sits on the editorial board of the ETRI Journal and of the journals Sensors and  Applied Sciences: Optics and Lasers. He is in the advisory board of Glass-to-Power, an Italian start-up. In 2001 he was awarded the title of Cavaliere by the Italian President for scientific merit. In 2010 and 2011 he was elected distinguished speaker of the IEEE- Photonics society. He is a fellow of the IEEE, of SPIE, of AAIA and of the SIF. He holds an H-number of 62 according to Scopus and Web of Science, and of 76 according to Google Scholar.

Organized by

Technically Sponsored by

Sponsored by